A Success in Browsing Netflix: Eat With Me

So the problem I have with browsing Netflix for stuff to watch is that I follow TV and movie news pretty closely, which means most things I see in Netflix fall into one of two categories:

  1. Something I’ve already heard of and know I’m not interested in.
  2. Something I’ve never heard of because no one has heard of it, making me wary of taking the ~30 minutes it’d take to figure if I like it or not. (Or I could go look up a trailer but that’s effort.)

Because of this, I rarely bother watching anything on Netflix I’ve not heard of elsewhere. But last night I was bored and I had a good feeling about this movie; I’m not sure exactly why, but it certainly helped that it was one of the few movies in the LGBT section without a shirtless dude on it. That never screams “interesting plot and meaningful character work” to me.

eatwithme

This poster massively overstates the presence of George Takei in the movie.

Eat With Me is a movie about Emma, a middle-aged woman who’s been semi-estranged from her adult son, Elliot, after he came out as gay. When she leaves her husband, however, she ends up living with Elliot and plot ensues. (Emma and Elliot are both treated as protagonists by the movie, but it begins and ends on Emma so I give her precedence.)

The most interesting thing to me about Eat With Me is its soundtrack, which is all French-style music (think accordions, jaunty strings, some straight-up French vocals, etc.). Which isn’t a knock on the movie–it’s really nice and I totally recommend it–it’s just that Eat With Me is a pretty low-key film so this stands out. While I can’t speak for the intentions behind this choice, it feels very intentional: food is a big element in this movie, and France is known for its cuisine.

What’s interesting rather than just appropriate about this is that the movie is mostly about Chinese cuisine, which especially in comparison to French cuisine is seen as cheap, fast, or as one character in the movie says, “greasy.” And from what I’ve read, that Chinese cuisine is seen this way is unfair to its merits and capabilities. So to score scenes about cooking Chinese food to French music seems very deliberate to me, as if to say, “hey, Chinese food deserves respect, too!” It’s really cool to me that a movie can communicate that just with its soundtrack.

I don’t really have anything else to say about Eat With Me; it’s just a really solid film that I’m glad I gave a shot.

Leave a Reply

